At the start of the year I set myself a goal of writting more regularly and often on my blog.    Unfortunately, outside events have been consipring against me and I have been having trouble enough with getting regular EQ2 time so it feels.

We recently had a restructure / reorganisation announced at work, and so I have applied for a promotion.  At the same time, the reorganisation has also got me thinking about my future and contemplating some massive changes – changes in career, moving interstate perhaps, and changes to relationships with family and friends.   Incredibly exciting times – but busy and it will be nice as things start to crystallise and settle down over the next few months!!

All that said, I have still been managing to have some time in game,   As always I have been having a blast with my guildies checking out some of the instances and catching some pretty lewtz.   One if the things we did quite early on, was to scale up some of the TSO shard zones to level 90 and run them.   

This is the fourth expansion that I have experienced since I have been playing.    One thing I appreciate is that developers are never going to be able to be all things to all people – different players will have different expectations.    However, I have personally enjoyed this expansion MUCH more than I have enjoyd the previous two expansions.

I remember when both RoK and TSO came out, as a Templar with typically low dps (I am a healer after all!) I found questing to be just about as enjoyable as Root Canal without pain relief.  So much so, that it is only now that I have almost finished working the quest lines in the Moors of Ykesha.  

While I have heard some people comment that they think this expansion is too easy – I respectfully disagree.  I applaud the fact that instances are more forgiving.  I really like the fact that it does not take a perfectly constructed group to complete a number of instances.   Since expansion I have not seen ” group looking for bard and/or chanter – must have myth” or similar. 

Others may disagree and I dont mind if they do – but I like the fact that players have a greater ability to play their preferred character rather than playing another class because it is easier to get a group.  I like that we are seeing Necros back on the dps parse for example.  To my thinking, the changes in this expansion can only be good for the community as a whole when feels like it is easier for all classes to find a place in a group. 

So, this expansion I have also really enjoyed returning to questing.  I have probably done a couple of hundred quests since expansion and have had a blast.   Wikia has been my friend as I have worked my way through them.   Some quests are running around – yes – but that is how you get to know the geography of the zones.  It is also how to maximise that lovely discovery aa.   Despite the somewhat restricted play schedule, I was very excited this last weekend to reach a few milestones.

Firstly, Killy has now completed over 1400 quests, which is chicken feed compared to some i grant you!

Second – I dinged 210 aa and am now almost 212aa.

Finally – and am I quite excited about this – but my girl is now 90 Templar.  I was quite pleased reaching level cap some three and a bit weeks after the expansion launched.  I never felt as though I was grinding, never felt the need to panick and rush – just enjoyed following quest lines with an occasional dungeon crawl or instance group in between.

My verdict so far – this is my favourite expansion yet.  I am really looking forward to the approx 150 quests I have left in Sentinels, plus the handful of level 80+ quests still left in Moors.   In two weeks time I have some vacation planned and am looking forward to having a little bit of extra play time even though I have plenty of school work to get done.  So bring it on! 😀

Hope everyone is having just as much fun!!!   Happy hunting and crafting 🙂